Posted by: pharaohhoundflash | September 15, 2010

A gorgeous evening for a long walk

and not happily wearing it, either

Really? You expect me to walk wearing this horse thing over my snout?

The things we'll do for treats.
As you can see, I’m not happy about walking in this head halter.

This head harness is totally cramping my style–in so many ways. What do I look like, a horse?

Poor bird

You wouldn't believe how often we find bird nests on the ground. Poor birds; so much work, all gone to the dogs.

Responses

  1. Hi flash: Tanner here. I used a head halter when I was a puppy, on the advice of my vet who said I was extremely exciteable. My mom (AKA The Pack Leader) used treats to condition me to it, and pretty soon I was lovin’ life. I got a treat everytime I walked a few steps without pulling or trying to rub it off. After all, what’s not to like about treats to help a fella get used to change. Good luck!

  2. Hey Tanner,
    Yes! The treats are great, for sure. But I’m still not going to act like I like this change. I mean, c’mon, you have to admit: this thing looks dumb! I hate seeing it every time I try to look at something. After all, I am a sight hound. I like a clear and precise view. And, of course, this thing has completely sabotaged my ability to hunt cats, as I feared. It seriously interferes. When I try to chase, I somehow go in a circle. My head whips around, but I end up making no ground. Tanner, this is quite embarrassing, I must tell you. It’s totally ruining my rep. as a cat hunter. Anyhow, other than that, I’m going along with the game plan. I actually don’t notice it sometimes. Other times, like when it’s really hot, I mean, I am just not that comfortable trying to breathe through the smallish opening that it allows. Lauressa says it’s the right size, but I really like to hang my tongue out there when it’s hot, ya know, man? So I still cannot really say that I love this thing. But, hey, I do what Lauressa wants. She’s pretty good to me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

